The purpose of this article is to give you a simple explanation of what happens when you reset your wireless router with some extra research-based insights.
If you own a wireless router, you might think of the various functions it performs and the options on the router that control these. Resetting your router is one of the functions that could solve many internet and connectivity issues. Internet speed comes fixed with the router and fluctuates a lot depending on range and usage.
If you wish to reset your router to get the actual speed and connectivity, or any similar setting, this article will help you. This article will help you understand what happens when you reset your wireless router. We will go through resetting the router and how to do it.
What Happens When You Reset Your Wireless Router?
Before we jump into what resetting your router does to it, you might wonder if resetting is the same as restarting. Restarting the router means switching the router off and then on again. Restarting is the simplest way to solve issues with the router not being shown as an available device or your phone or laptop not connecting.
When you restart your router, you do not lose any settings. Any manual settings made by you will stay. When the router is turned on, you will not have to put in the same setup again. For example, if you change the name of the internet network and then restart the router, the name will not be lost.
Resetting Your Wireless Router
Resetting your router is entirely different from restarting it. If you renew your router, you will not lose any settings. However, if you reset your router, all the settings will default. These include the name of the wifi network, password, etc.
Resetting the router allows you to go back to default settings and start setting up your router from scratch. Let us see the various scenarios in which resorting to the router might help.
Connectivity Issues Or Internet Speed
Resetting the router is highly recommended if you are not getting the internet speed you should be getting. You could start by restarting the router. However, resetting is your next option if it still does not fix the rate.
You might also need to reset your router if you have recently upgraded the internet speed yet do not see the change. When upgrading internet speed, it might not show up very quickly due to range or usage issues. If you reset your router, these can be cleared up quickly.
Any other possible network issues might be resolved by resetting the router.
If you have formed a guest network or any such new network or have used another router with the original one to extend the wifi range, you might not see the results unless you reset the router. If you have manually made changes to the network, restarting does not always help.
If you forget the password to your network, restarting the router will do no good. You should reset it since resetting will allow you to set all the optimum settings again, including the password. When you reset your router, you will have access to the router’s web interface. Here you can make the necessary changes.
To log in to the web interface, you need the default password. This password comes with the router and is not difficult to put in. If you do not have the receipt of the router information, there is a high chance the username and password are already saved on your device.
You can use this password to log in to your account and then change the password. All routers work differently. However, a primary method comes in handy while resetting them.
How To Reset A Wireless Router?
Most routers have a reset button on their back. You shall be able to find it easily. If not, please check the instruction manual, which guides you through all the buttons on your router. This button is usually recessed, but you can access it very quickly. You can use a straightened-out paperclip or any similar device.
First, you need to make sure the router is turned on. You can then press the reset button and hold it for around ten seconds. If there are LEDs on the router next to the controls, the one next to the reset button will light up. You can then be sure the router is resetting. The router will restart in its default factory settings.
Important Note: Remember that if you reset your router, you will lose all the settings, so it is better to solve any connectivity or networking issue by restarting first.
This article explains what happens when you reset your wireless router. Resetting the router will change all its settings to default like the name of the connection, password, etc. However, resetting can be helpful to solve specific network issues.